Posted in School/Life

My Graduate School Plans – Applied Linguistics/TESOL

Hey, guys!  Long time no post, I know.  I don’t even have an excuse.  I had plenty of time over the past month, but I’ve been feeling lazy.  😛

Today I finally felt like writing a quick post detailing some of my future plans for the next several years.

In about a month I’ll be heading to graduate school to pursue a Master’s degree in Applied Linguistics – Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages.  Since I’ve always found linguistics and language acquisition fascinating, I’m really excited to finally take a couple of actual courses in those fields, and hopefully I’ll be able to transcribe some of the cool things I learn into blog posts here.

As a graduate student, I’ll also be responsible for assistant teaching some English Composition courses for non-native speakers.  It feels a little scary to be thrown into helping teach these courses before I have much training, but I’m sure the main teacher will help me learn the ropes.  Also, since I have an education background through my Bachelor’s, hopefully that will help a little as well, although teaching math and teaching how to write a good essay in English are two different beasts entirely.

There’s also an English Language Institute on campus, which I hopefully will be able to help out with at some point of my two-year program.  We shall see.

After the two years of graduate school, my current plan is to head to South Korea for a couple of years to teach English — assuming, of course, that North Korea doesn’t go completely mad and start shooting missiles at people in the meantime.  Fingers crossed!

In the meantime, I am still meandering through the summer trying to cram as much Korean-learning into my days as possible.  There were a couple of weeks where my motivation was practically non-existant (The French Open and Wimbledon were on TV, what can I say?  I ❤ tennis), but I’m back on track now.  More updates on my learning progress shall be posted in the near future.  Probably.  😀

One thought on “My Graduate School Plans – Applied Linguistics/TESOL

Leave a Reply

