Posted in Korean Learning Log, Weekly/Daily Goals

December Progress Report

Happy New Year!

Yet another month has flown by, and it’s time for another Korean studying progress report.

It’s only my second month using this record-keeping system, and so far it’s been a good self-motivation technique.  I kept the same standards for myself as I used for last month, and rated each day using these guidelines:

  • 0 minutes: Failure
  • 1-20 minutes: Poor
  • 21-40 minutes: Success
  • 40+ minutes: Superstar

In November, when I first implemented this accountability system, I had 16 Failures, 3 Poors, 10 Successes, and 1 Superstar day. My main goal for December was to do better than November.

December’s Results:

And I did indeed do better.  Here’s how the numbers turned out:

  • Failure: 10 days
  • Poor: 2 days
  • Success: 9 days
  • Superstar: 10 days

If you ignore the week of final exams, the numbers get even better, with only 3 Failure days and 1 Poor day.

The average time I studied each day in December was about 25 minutes per day.  Excluding the “failure” days, where I didn’t study at all, the average time I studied each day was about 37 minutes.

I mainly studied by listening to TTMIK Level 8-9 Grammar Podcasts, reviewing some of TTMIK’s Iyagis, and studying a few chapters of the 재미있는 한국어 3 Textbook that I bought for my Korean class at Korea University.

January Goals:

I’m planning to continue this self-accountability system into January and see if I can continue to improve my stats.  I’m tempted to increase the number of minutes required to call a day a Success or Superstar day, but I’m about to start a full-time internship and will undoubtedly become fairly busy, so I’ll maintain the same daily standards.

On a larger scale, I’m going to think for a day or two about my goals for 2017 and post within the next few days about what I want myself to accomplish with my language learning in the next year.

4 thoughts on “December Progress Report

  1. I just realized we are both tracking skills numerically like this. XD
    I also can’t believe that your November post was a month ago. I mean, that makes sense, but how is it already time for another???!!! Good job with improving your stats.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

