Posted in Japanese Learning Log, K-pop, Korean Learning Log, Mandarin Chinese

*whispers* SHINee’s Back (…and so am I)

(If you read that title in Minho’s sexy whisper voice, you’re living life right.)

It’s sadly been over a month since my last post.  Even more sad is the pitifully small amount of Korean that I studied during that month.  But with SHINee’s comeback this week, I figured that would be a good reason for me to finally post again and update you guys on my recent studying (or lack thereof).

shinee-12

Language Updates

Both of my language classes are going fairly well.  Considering it’s been less than two months since I started taking Japanese classes, I’m impressed at how much I’m able to communicate now.  We just finished Chapter 3 of the Genki 1 Textbook, and I’m now pretty comfortable reading Hiragana and Katakana (although I’m still stammer and hesitate fairly often when reading aloud).  We’re now starting to incorporate Kanji into our reading/writing.  Fortunately, I’m able to already recognize a lot of the characters and meanings from my Chinese knowledge, but it’s hard to read them in Japanese instead of instinctively reading the Chinese pronunciation.

Chinese is also going well.  We’re moving much faster this semester than in the past, and the vocabulary we’re learning is also getting more and more advanced.  For example, in our last lesson we learned the words for “ice lantern” and “latitude” (冰灯 and 纬度).  While I doubt I will get much personal use out of those words, I guess learning low-frequency vocabulary is also an important part of learning a language if you’re serious about becoming fluent.  Last week, our class finished the Level 2 Part 1 Textbook, and next week we start on Level 2 Part 2 Textbook.  Finishing a textbook and moving on the next level is always exciting.

As for Korean…. Well, suffice it to say that not much has happened on that front over the past month.  While working on Japanese and Chinese, I let myself get complacent and lazy with my Korean studies.  This past week I’ve been trying to resurrect some sort of daily routine, and its working out fairly well so far.  While I’m still not studying that much Korean per day, at least I’m doing some, which is more than I can say for most of September.  I’m determined that October will be a much more productive month for my Korean studies.

SHINee’s Comeback

Like I mentioned earlier, SHINee had a comeback this past week.  I don’t reveal my fangirl side much on this blog, but trust me when I say that it definitely exists.  For those of you who don’t know, my favorite K-pop group is SHINee, and my bias is Minho.

shinee_1475700087_shinee1

Their new album is called 1 of 1, which is also the title of the song which they released the music video for this past Wednesday.  The theme for the album/music video is supposed to be very 90s.  I haven’t had the chance to listen to the whole album yet, but I’ve watched the music video several times.  1 of 1 isn’t my favorite song that they’ve released, but I do like the tune.  The music video is definitely quite 90s-themed, which is fine, but not really my style. Also, Onew wasn’t able to participate in any of the dancing in the music video due to a temporary ankle injury, so between that and the 90s vibe, I wasn’t dazzled overall by the music video.  Hopefully they’ll release a performance version of the song soon where he can participate as well, in which case I might like that music video much more.

1of1tracklist

Anyways, negatives aside, I still like the song and music video enough to give it a B+.  As far as Minho goes, while his white-blonde look isn’t my favorite, he still managed to pull it off quite well.

Here’s the music video, in all of its 90s glory:

And here’s their comeback stage for Prism, another one of their songs that I think I prefer to 1 of 1:

Leave a Reply

