Posted in Korean Learning Log, Weekly/Daily Goals

Four More Weeks! D-28

Exactly 4 weeks from today I will be boarding my flight to Seoul.  I can’t even describe how excited (but also TERRIFIED) I am at the thought of how near this trip is.

I haven’t posted in a couple of weeks, mainly because nothing really exciting has happened in my learning journey.  I’ve been plowing steadily through the Iyagi lessons and chugging through the new vocab on Memrise.  I’ve been meaning to do a lot more Grammar studying, but I’ve really slacked off in that area so far.  I really like grammar, but for some reason I keep putting it off.

My goal for the next four weeks is to really refocus on grammar.  Now that I have a pretty solid routine going for the Iyagi reading/listening/vocabulary, it shouldn’t be that difficult to incorporate some daily grammar.  Even just one grammar pattern a day for the next 28 days would really be helpful.  Since I’ll be taking a placement test on the first day of school, I want to be prepared as best as I can.  Hopefully I can finally get my motivation going.

7 thoughts on “Four More Weeks! D-28

  1. One month to go, and the adventure begins, good luck! I’ve recently watched a video about how three guys managed to learn French in one working week. Obviously, they didn’t master the language, but one of them in particular achieved a pretty impressive level of fluency in such a short time. Now, I know Korean requires much more effort, but hopefully the video will inspire you as well (https://youtu.be/uRLmC5a1Axw) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I watched the video as well as the sequel. Interesting challenge. I was pretty impressed at how well they were able to understand/converse after only one week.
      Part of me wants to do a competition like that, simply because it would exponentially increase my motivation. On the other hand, I think it could also be kind of stressful, which would take away from the fun of learning a language, which is the most important part in my opinion.
      I suppose my remaining month of Korean-cramming is like a competition with myself — how much information can I squish into my brain before I leave for Korea?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, i could imagine the stress they might have been under, but you don’t need to take it that far. I suggested the video because for me it lifted a mental barrier about what is in our humanly reach with regarding to learning a new language. If I had previously had fleeting doubts about pulling off my “two languages in three months” challenge, my mind suddenly went from “can I really do this?” to ” can I do it in less time?” and “If they accomplished so much in seven working days, what can I accomplish in three whole months?!”. So, all I’m really saying is good luck and enjoy your tip. I hope you’ll find a good source of motivation, if urgency alone doesn’t move you 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, it’s a good example of just how much the human brain is capable of. It is rather motivational for me to see just how much I can improve each week. I’m sure it’s even more motivational for you and your personal challenge of learning 2 languages in 3 months.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

