Posted in Korean Learning Log, language exchange, Weekly/Daily Goals

I spoke to someone in Korean!

3월27일 – 4월2일

Once again, my life has been pretty crazy this week, but I’ve been managing to review vocab pretty consistently and chat with people on HelloTalk on a daily basis.  Also, I finished Chapter 3 of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets/해리 포터와 비밀의 방!  I would probably move through the book a lot faster if I read it more consistently, but I’ve been too tired to do my traditional read-before-bedtime routine.

Anyways, on to the more exciting news.  I think I have a language partner now!  It’s not really official, but yesterday I met one of the people that I’ve been chatting with on HelloTalk.  He lives in the area, and he actually visits my university’s library on a weekly basis.  Yesterday the two of us were in the library at the same time, so we met up in person and chatted for a while.

This was actually the first time I’ve spoken Korean out loud to an actual person (other than the random Korean kid or two I’ve impressed with an “안녕!”, and when my Korean friend and I used to say “노래방 가자!!” to each other at random times.).  It’s crazy to think that I’ve been learning Korean for almost 5 years now and haven’t had a real conversation yet.  I’ve only been seriously studying for about 2 years, but it’s still rather sad.

Anyways, while we were at the library, I took a glance through his English textbook.  It’s fascinating to look at a textbook for your native language.  I even had the opportunity to explain a confusing grammar point to him in Korean, which made my teacher-heart happy.

I’m hoping that meeting with him will become a regular occurrence for the rest of the semester before I have to go home for the summer.  Next time I meet him I’m definitely going to be mentally prepared to speak more in Korean, rather than so much English.

Anyways, that was kind of a big deal for me.

Looking at that English grammar textbook makes me want to focus more on grammar this week.  I’ll probably pull out my Korean Grammar in Use textbook for the first time in a while and do some reviewing.  Yay for motivation!

2 thoughts on “I spoke to someone in Korean!

  1. Congratulations!
    I remember how happy I was when I first met my LP. And we are enjoying so much the time are spending together before she comes back to Korea. I hope it will be the same for you. 🙂
    Also, I just started the “read-before-bed” routine and I was quite impressed that you read such a big book in Korean. Once again, congrats! I hope I’ll manage to do the same.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

