Posted in Random, School/Life

Teaching My Brother Korean

I’ve tried to get my little brother and my parents interested in learning Korean several times, but it always seems to fail.  I keep trying, though, especially with my little brother, since I’m older than him and therefore have the power to force him to do things.

Finally, this past Sunday, I succeeded!  I’ve tried to teach him how to read 한글 at least five times before, and he’s always lost interest after about three consonants, but on Sunday he actually agreed to learn all of them!  I made little flashcards with all of the consonants and vowels on them, and then went through them all several times until he had them pretty much memorized.

I had the lyrics to Let’s Not Fall in Love by Big Bang handy, so I then had him read the first line.  That’s right, I didn’t give any rules or explanations for how words are put together, I just skipped straight from ㄱ,ㄴ,ㄷ,ㄹ, etc. to sentences like 우리 사랑하지 말아요.  He did fairly well.

Despite his prior refusing to learn Korean, he actually already knows some Korean words.  First of all, I usually address him as 바보 or 바보야 instead of his actual name, so he knows that word very well and has actually incorporated it into our spoken conversations.  (i.e., “that guy is such a 바보”).  He also knows “빨리 와”, because I say it to him so much.

So I’m just going to keep talking to my brother in Korean, and hopefully he’ll pick up more and more phrases and vocabulary throughout the years.  I doubt he’ll ever become as interested in the language as I am, but at least he’ll have some basics down.

Now I just need to start on my parents… 😀

2 thoughts on “Teaching My Brother Korean

  1. Hi there! First of all thank you for the follow.
    Wow! I think it’s actually a great idea to teach your target language. I never thought of that! But again, nobody around seems to be interested.
    I’m sure your lil brother will appreciate your efforts someday, perhaps when he gets a chance to show off some of his Korean knowledge 😉
    Anyways, Enjoying your posts. I still haven’t had a chance to read most of them, but looking forward to more interesting posts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

