Posted in Dramas, Korean Learning Log

Re-entering the Studying World

Not only has it been a while since I last posted, it’s also been a while since I last studied.  I’ve been horribly unproductive this past week and a half, for pretty much one reason: dramas.

I hadn’t watched a single drama since I got back to college, except for the last two episodes of 너를 사랑한 시간 (The Time I Loved You) when they aired.  But last week I broke that month-long drama-free streak by marathoning two dramas.

The first one I watched was 용팔이 (Yong Pal).  This one is currently airing, but I watched the 14 episodes that have aired.  It’s not really what I expected, but I like it.  I especially liked the ending of Episode 14 and how Tae Hyun handles Yeo Jin’s new behavior.  (I’m trying to be really vague, so I don’t spoil it for anyone who hasn’t watched.)  I get mad at dramas where people do stupid/illegal things because of love, so it’s refreshing to see someone not being an idiot.  Can’t wait for the new episodes this week!

Then, since I was back in the drama swing, I decided to randomly watch a Taiwanese drama from 2013 called Just You (就是要你愛上我).  21 episodes, 1.5 hours each — I can’t believe I finished the drama as fast as I did.  It was super adorable, though, and I am now officially an Aaron Yan fan.  He also sang one of the OST’s for the drama, which I’m currently addicted to:  擋不住的太陽/Unstoppable Sun.

Man, watching that made me want to refresh my Mandarin skills.  I can’t wait to take Chinese again in the spring.

Anyways, hopefully now I’ll stop marathoning dramas.  I wish I was better able to stop myself from going overboard with the marathons, but I have no self control.  Sigh.

Back to studying Korean!  I need to whip myself into shape.  Plus, I also have my real-life college classes to worry about as well.  I can’t just sit around staying up absurdly late watching dramas all the time.  I need sleep…

Leave a Reply

