Posted in Korean Learning Log, Reading

Harry Potter — Thoughts/Plans

Well, yesterday I officially started reading my Korean version of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.  I would have started with the Sorcerer’s Stone, but I was stupid and got the wrong book.  Whoops.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secret's KoreanAnyways, I’m super excited/terrified to read this.  I’ve only read the first page so far, but I’m just proud for actually starting on schedule instead of procrastinating.

I had been debating for a week or two on how I would go about reading this.  I couldn’t decide if I was going to write down all the vocabulary words I didn’t know to study, or if I was just going to look them up as I encountered them and not worry about studying the words later.

So far I’ve decided to not write down all the vocabulary.  When I read the first page yesterday, I just looked up every word I wasn’t familiar with and then kept reading.  That’s much less time-consuming than trying to write down every word I don’t know.

My plan is that before I read my page for today, I’m going to read through yesterday’s page first as review.  Maybe that will help with vocabulary retention.  I might also re-skim chapters after I finish them too, but that can be a pretty big chunk of text, so I’m not so sure about that.  We’ll see how I feel after the first chapter… 🙂

Leave a Reply

