Posted in School/Life

Dropping a Class — My Weekend Life Crisis

I overextended.

As much as it pains me to admit it, I dropped one of my classes yesterday.  It was the last day that I would be allowed to add/drop any classes without a $100 fee, and it turned into a pretty last-minute decision.

I had really loaded up my schedule this semester.  I was taking seven classes, which totaled up to 20 hours (more than the recommended maximum).  Three were upper level math courses, two were education courses, and the other two were random general courses that I need to graduate.  The two education classes turned out to both require out-of-class time commitments, like service volunteering and lab assignments.  In reality, my school schedule shaped up to be around 25 hours of commitments per week.  Kind of insane.  And that’s not even including time to study for those classes.

In addition to that, I’m working 2 part-time jobs, which is a relatively large time commitment (~20 hours per week).  And, obviously, I’m hoping to squish some Korean into my daily routine as well.  Dare I even hope for a few hours of sleep?

Now, I know deep down in my heart that I could have successfully pulled off this semester if I chose to do so.  I could have put in the effort to keep my perfect GPA, meet my bosses’ expectations at work, and survived.

But I probably would have been miserable doing it.

I ended up dropping Abstract Algebra from my course load.  I just didn’t want to deal with juggling 3 advanced math classes all at one time, and Abstract Algebra was the class that had the most negatives — bad teacher (so I’ve heard) and hours of weekly homework.

I debated for a long time about whether to drop it.  It’s not in my nature to back away from a challenge, so I felt like a failure to even consider it.

Overall, though making that decision was really stressful, I feel like my semester will be much more enjoyable.  I won’t have as much stress about finding time to study, and because those massive homework assignments are now eliminated from my schedule, I can incorporate more “fun time” into my schedule, including studying Korean (yes, this counts as fun time), watching dramas, or swing dancing.

On a more positive note, I think I’ve finally figured out a reasonable Korean study schedule, but I’ll leave that for another post.

I am going to survive this semester, and I’m going to enjoy myself in the process.  화이팅!

Leave a Reply

