Posted in Books and Reviews

Birthday Haul – New Study Materials!

My birthday was this past week, which of course means presents!  And, me being me, I asked for some new study materials.  Getting study materials as gifts is so much more convenient thIMG_0663an having to spend my own money on them….

I received 3 amazing Korean-related gifts:  a new notebook, Korean Grammar in Use – Intermediate, and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets Vol. 1.

The notebook is a 3 subject notebook, and I’m absolutely in love with the color scheme. (The cover is more turquoise than it looks in the pictures, and the different sections of the inside are edged withIMG_0662 turquoise, navy, and green.)  I can’t wait to use it.  I have no idea what I’m going to use it for right now, but I’ll think of something.

I’m super excited to finally get the next level
of Korean Grammar in Use.  Of course, right now I’m still steadily reviewing the Beginner book to make sure I’ve mastered all of those concepts, but as soon as I finish doing that (which should be within the next 2-3 weeks)  I’ll start with this new one.  As I was flipping through it, I noticed a new exciting feature — at the end of each unit, there’s a review section with a page or two of TOPIK-style questions to test and make sure you have mastered the new material.  I’m not even planning on taking the TOPIK now or anytime soon, but this still excites me.  I guess I’m just a nerd who likes taking tests.  Who knows?  Maybe I will IMG_0660eventually take the TOPIK, just for kicks.

And finally, I am PUMPED about my new Harry Potter book.  Like an idiot, I didn’t realize until after I received the gift that the website link I had sent my mom was for Book 2 and not Book 1.  Still, I decided to roll with it and just start with Book 2 for now.  I can always go back later and get Book 1 after I finish both volumes of Book 2, which I’m sure will take quite a while.  I am fully aware that reading this is going to be quite a challenge (especially vocabulary wise), but I’m up for the challenge.  I’m hoping that this will help me to really start building my vocabulary — even if it is with words about Wizardry and Witchcraft  (those are the most fun words anyways).

For now, I’ve decided not to start using any of my new materials until the school year starts.  I’ve already made my study plan for the remainder of summer, and I’m just going to follow through with that, since the routine seems to be going rather well.  Once I’m back at school again, I’ll make another post detailing how I’ve decided to incorporate these new materials into my routine.

One last random note — it was fun to see the looks on people’s faces when they asked me what I got for my birthday, and I responded with “a Korean grammar textbook”.  They probably thought either I or the gift-giver was a very strange person.

One thought on “Birthday Haul – New Study Materials!

Leave a Reply

