Posted in Word of the Day

Words of the Day #1 – 4th of July edition

I know it’s a day late, but I still thought I’d include some holiday themed vocabulary for the celebratory 4th of July weekend here in the States.

Last night my family and I attended a party at a friend’s house, where I set off a couple of fireworks for the first time.  I’m not talking lame little sparklers here either.  I was setting off the big, dangerous, shoot-up-and-explode-in-the-air kind.  It was terrifying, but also exhilarating.

With that in mind, here are my words of the day:

명절 – national holiday

명절을 쇠다 – to observe/celebrate a holiday

폭죽 – fireworks/firecrackers

폭죽을 터뜨리다 – to set off fireworks

미국 국기 – American flag

Leave a Reply

